Image Description

John E. Pearce Provincial Park


 

Location

  • Go south on Currie Road from Highway 3 (Talbot Line)
  • Turn left onto Lakeview Line
  • North entrance 29424 Lakeview Line
  • South entrance 29551 Lakeview Line

 

 

 This is a day-use only park. Free Admission. Great birding opportunities in the 68 hectares, especially during the spring and fall migrations.  Have a picnic with a view of Lake Erie.  There is a fence for safety due to the cliff being undercut. Woodland trails throughout the park provide for an excellent outdoor experience. Since the park is situated within the Carolinian zone, flora and fauna often seen in the central United States are present here. The Spicer Trail (1.5 km) leads through a hardwood forest that is centuries old. An interpretive brochure gives highlights and identifies labelled trees along the way. Opened Nov 18, 2017 is a new 1.4 km Mary Storey Wetlands Trail adjacent to Backus-Page House Museum dedicated to the original owner of the property.  As one spends approximately one hour to travel along this trail, there is large interpretative signage to enhance the experience.

In 1925, this property was bought by John E. Pearce and his wife. Their hopes were to protect its natural beauty from civilization that was closing in on it. In 1955, the property was given to the province and two years later it was opened as a provincial park.